Masud elected as President-elect of Society of Engineering Science

Professor Arif Masud has been elected as President-elect of the Society of Engineering Science (SES) 2023. Masud will serve as Vice President for one year, beginning January 2022, before his term as President begins in January 2023. Established in 1963, SES is an organization of leading experts from around the world who are exploring the porous boundaries of, and extending and strengthening the interfaces between, various disciplines in engineering, science and mathematics.

Masud was elected to the SES Board of Directors in 2020 and received the society’s prestigious G.I. Taylor Medal in 2019 in recognition of his “fundamental contributions to the theory of stabilized and variational multiscale methods in computational fluid dynamics as well as their widespread adoption and utilization in industry and at national laboratories.” He has been a member of SES since 2004 and an elected fellow since 2020.

Masud joined the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering in 2006, where he is the John and Eileen Blumenschein Professor and Robert H. Dodds Faculty Scholar. In addition to his appointment in CEE, Masud also holds faculty appointments in The Grainger College of Engineering with the Department of Aerospace Engineering and the Holonyak Micro and Nanotechnology Lab, as well as in the Department of Biomedical and Translational Sciences at the Carle Illinois College of Medicine. He is an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, and Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineers, American Academy of Mechanics, Society of Engineering Science, Engineering Mechanics Institute of ASCE, United States Association for Computational Mechanics and the International Association of Computational Mechanics.